Do I need a Police Report?

by | Jun 10, 2024

Do I Need a Police Report?

The short answer is YES. From fender benders to major vehicle accidents, obtaining a police report is crucial to not only establish the details of the accident, but to determine liability as well. Depending on the nature of the accident, an officer may give you the option to submit your own report online or allow them to make a report themselves. The best choice is to let the officers do the report while on scene so no vital information gets missed. And if some reason you are required to submit your own report (ex: no officer on scene), we recommend you do it ASAP so details about the accident are not forgotten that could potentially affect your case. In Colorado, the law states you have 60 days from the date of the accident to file your report. Even though Colorado law does not require police reports for minor collisions that are less than $1,000 in property damage and do not result in the other party being injured or deceased, it can benefit you in the long run to report it to the proper agency as it contains details that will help insurance companies while working this claim.

But what type of information is on the police report that makes it so important? It contains where the accident happened, what time, who was involved, who were the witnesses, photographs of the scene, officer observations, a diagram of what happened and how fast the parties were driving. Besides that, the report will also show if and who received a citation, which will make it much easier for insurance companies to determine liability.

We understand how scary it can be to be involved in a car accident and we know the first thing you want to do is go home and try to put it past you, however we strongly encourage you to take the extra time needed to allow police officers evaluate the scene and make a police report that could make a difference in your insurance claim.